Run-off Election Set for November 14… as Presidential Candidates Fail To Meet Constitutional Requirement

By: Jeremiah Sackie Cooper

Liberia: The National Elections Commission (NEC) has announced November 14, 2023 as the date for the presidential run-off election.

NEC’s announcement is as a result of the failure of presidential candidates to fulfill Article 83b of the constitutional of Liberia to be declared winner.

Article 83b states “All elections of public officers shall be determined by an absolute majority of the votes cast. If no candidate obtains an absolute majority in the first ballot, a second ballot shall be conducted on the second round Tuesday following. Two candidates who received the greatest number of votes on the first ballot shall be designated to participate in the run-off election”.

According to the NEC, the Run-off Election will take place between the two top presidential candidates, incumbent George Weah of Coalition for Democratic Change (CDC) and Joseph Boakai, Standard-bearer of the Unity Party.

Candidate George Weah received the highest number of votes of 804, 087 amounting to 43.83%,, while Amb Boakai received 796,961 votes amounting to 43.44%.during the October 10 polls.

Additional, NEC further declared political campaign rally for the two political parties open up to 12 November midnight.

There was about 1,834,516 valid votes, 110,639 invalid votes out to the total of 1,945,155 votes cast during the October 10 Presidential and Legislative Elections.

Critics have expressed disappointment in the National Elections Commission over the high number of invalid votes in the justed ended elections.

They believe that the NEC did not live up to its responsibility of providing voter’s education to voters especially those participating to the election for the first time ahead of the election.

Meanwhile, results from the National Election Commission shows the ruling Coalition for Democratic Change claiming the highest number of 25 representative seats in the just ended elections.

Those elected on the ticket of the CDC include: Josiah Marvin Cole, District #3, Bong County, Eugine J.M. Kollie, District #5 Bong County; Zinnah A. Norman – District #1 Gbarpolu County, Matthew Joe – District #3, Grand Bassa County, D1. Bintu Massalley – District #1, Grand Cape Mount County; Erol Madison Gwion – District #1,Grand Gedeh County, Fonati J. Koffa – District #2 Grand Kru County, Thomas P. Fallah – District #1, Lofa County, Fartorma Julie Wiah – District #2, Lofa County , Siafa Momo Kpoto – District #3 Lofa County.

Others are: Mike P. Jurry of District #1, Maryland County, Ivar K. Jones – District #2, Margibi County, Emmanuel Yarh – District #4, Margibi County, Clarence G. Garh – District 5, Margibi County; Frank Saah Foko – District #9, Montserrado County, Edward P. Flomo Jr – District 13, Montserrado County, Muka Kerkula Kamara – District 14, Montserrado County, Abu Bana Kamara – District 15, Montserrado County, Dixon W. Seboe – District 16, Montserrado and Bernard Blue Benson –
District 17, Montserrado County.

The rest are: Alexander Poure – District #1 River Gee County, Isaac B.Choloplay Wuo -District #2 River Gee County,
Johnson S.N. Williams Sr.-District #3, River Gee County; Samson Q. Wiah – District #2, Sinoe County and Alex S. Noah of District #3,Sinoe County.

So far major opposition bloc Unity Party won 10 out of the 73 seats, while 16 candidates won on as independent candidate.

At the same time, the ruling Coalition for Democratic Change won six out of the 15 senatorial seats, while the Unity Party won one seat in the just ended October 10 Presidential and Legislative Elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *