Hon. Nyonblee Karnga Lawrence Takes Over Women Legislative Caucus As Chairperson

Liberia: The Women Legislative Caucus recently turned over the garble of leadership to Grand Bassa County Senator Nyonblee Karngar Lawrence as the National Chairperson.

Hon. Karnga-Lawrence was elected along with other women Legislators to various positions.

Others elected are Sen. Botoe Kanneh (Gbarpolu County), Co-Chair for National Affairs, Rep. Moima Briggs-Mensah (Bong County District 6), Co-Chair for International Affairs,
Rep. Rustonlyn Suacoco Dennis (Montserrado county District 4) as Secretary, Rep. Julie Wiah (Lofa County District 2) as Financial Secretary, Rep. Ellen Attoh-Wreh (Margibi County
District 3) as Treasurer and
Rep. Mary Karwor (Grand Bassa County District 2) as Chaplain.

The leadership will stir the affairs of the Caucus for the next three (3) years.

The mandate of the leadership is to coordinate women Legislative activities; increase and improve women Political Participation, foster national and international support for women leadership.

According to the Caucus’s constitution, both Houses alternate the head of the Caucus every three (3) years.

Predicated upon that, Hon. Rosana G.D.H Schaack, (Rivercess District 1) of the House of Representatives completed a term as a Chairperson and now it is the Senate’s turn.

Meanwhile, the Women Legislative Caucus induction is expected to take place on June 9, 2022 in Monrovia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *