President Boakai Mandates All Government Officials To Declare Assets; As He Commissions Government Officials

By: Sylvester Choloplay

Monrovia- February 22, 2024: Liberian President Joseph Nyumah Boakai has mandated all government officials to declare their assets. According to the President, it is a way of combating corruption and upholding the principles of integrity in public service.

The President in his speech, when he commissioner scores of confirmed government officials vowed to enforce anti- corruption measures against public officials that will refuse to declare their assets.

“I do not want corruption in my government and there will not be a room for impunity or mismanagement. We must strive to build a country of integrity, where the interests of the people are paramount”, President Boakai declared.

However, the Liberian President Joseph Nyuma Boakai has commissioned the first batch of government officials, setting forth a clear agenda for integrity, accountability, and national development.

Those government officials commissioned by President Joseph Nyuma Boakai are: the Dean of the Cabinet and Foreign Affairs Minister Sara Beysolow Nyanti, Finance and Development Planning Minister Boima S. Kamara, Minister of State for Presidential Affairs Mr. Sylvester M. Grigsby, Youth and Sports Minister J. Cole Bangalu, Agriculture Minister J. Alexander Nuetah, Public Works Minister Roland Layfette Giddings, Health Minister Dr. Louis M. Kpoto, Commerce and Industry Minister Amin Modad, Gender, Children and Social Protection Minister Gbeme Horance Kollie, Presidential Advisor on Foreign Affairs Amb. George W. Wallace, Jr., Senior Advisor to the President Dr. Augustine Konneh, Legal Advisor to the President -Mr. Bushuben M. Keita (Esq), Presidential Advisor for Political Affairs Ms. MacDella Cooper.

Other officials who were called but were absent are: Education Minister Jarso Maley Jallah, Economic Advisor to the President Mr. Morley P. Kamara, and Senior Economic Advisor to the President Mr. Sahr Johnny.

Article 54 of the 1986 Liberian Constitution gives power to the President to nominate and with the consent of the Senate appoint, and commission cabinet ministers and other key officials of the Liberian Government.

President Boakai during the commissioning ceremony reaffirmed his unwavering commitment to transparency and good governance.

Emphasizing the importance of accountability, President Boakai pledged to closely monitor the performance of all government officials and hold them accountable for their actions.

He stated that public service is not an entitlement but a call to work diligently for positive results, urging officials to prioritize the public good over personal gains.

“In my government, there will be no room for corruption. Those who seek to enrich themselves at the expense of the people will face consequences; if you want to be rich then go in the private sector, not the government because in this government it is all about service”, President Boakai asserted.

He further called for unity and collaboration among all Liberians, revealing the need to create an enabling environment for investors to contribute to the transformation of Liberia.

He underscored the importance of collective efforts in fostering economic growth and development for the benefit of all citizens.

“I urge all Liberians to work together, regardless of political affiliations, to create an environment conducive to investment and progress. Together, we can build a prosperous and thriving nation for future generations”, President Boakai urged.

Meanwhile, Speaking on behalf of the commissioned officials, the Dean of the Cabinet and Foreign Affairs Minister Sara Beysolow Nyanti assured President Boakai of positive results in the interest of the Liberian people.

“Hold us accountable for results, in every sector for the development of Liberia. “Fellow colleagues, we should not only go to work or wear clothes in our work places but to achieve results and work hard”, she urged.

The ceremony was embraced by Vice President Jeremiah Koung, House Speaker J. Fonati Koffa, Senate Pro-Tempore Nyonblee-Karnga Lawrence and other local and international dignitaries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *